Path to Eagle

In every Scout’s life there comes a time when they or their parents want to know what is the path to Eagle. As you can imagine, there are as many ways to answer this question as there are people asking it. Each Scout is unique in their personality, interest, capability, and drive and will have their own path to Eagle as a result. However, there are some basic steps and processes that have been proven out over time which we’ll begin to cover below.

Eagle Scout Information:

Eagle Scout is the highest advancement rank in Boy Scouting.

In 2010, 56,176 Scouts earned the rank of Eagle Scout. Around 5 percent of all Boy Scouts earned the Eagle Scout rank in 2010. In 2010, the average age of boys earning the Eagle Scout rank was 17 years of age. From 1912 to 2010, more than 2 million Boy Scouts earned the Eagle Scout rank.

Eagle Scout Rank

To earn the rank, a Boy Scout must:

  1. Progress through the ranks in the following order:
    Second Class
    First Class
  2. Earn 21 merit badges, including:
    First Aid
    Citizenship in the Community
    Citizenship in the Nation
    Citizenship in the World
    Environmental Science
    Personal Fitness
    Family Life
    Personal Management
    Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving
    Cycling, Hiking, or Swimming
  3. Serve six months in a troop leadership position.
  4. Plan, develop, and give leadership to a service project for any religious organization or any school or community.
  5. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  6. Successfully complete an Eagle Scout board of review.

Boy Scouts with disabilities may qualify for the Eagle Scout rank by fulfilling alternative requirements as determined by their council.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.